Cycling around Sweden

This could be the title of a book, there is so much that could be written on it. Indeed, I have already mentioned cycling in this blog before, since Sweden hosts The World’s biggest cycling race, I was nearly in an accident with a cyclist, and cycle lanes are well-designed and everywhere.

You can hardly move for bicycles in Sweden. This ties in with the Swedes’ love of nature and the environment. A colleague visiting from the UK was minded to post this Tweet:

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 16.14.32

There are cycle shops and cycle repair shops everywhere. There are 16 cycle shops in Lund city centre, with more in the outskirts. Not bad for a town of 80 000 inhabitants. Here is one in Malmö that I run past on one of my regular routes:

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 16.30.01
Click here to find this on a map

(Follow me on Strava to check out where I run)

There are 500km of cycle paths in Malmö. And by cycle path, we mean

IMG_2255
A typical Malmö cycle path. Source: Cykla i Malmö

Rather than this:

4
A London cycle path. Source: Crap Waltham Forest

Sweden is home to one of the biggest bike manufacturers in the world, Monark, who make commuter and children’s bikes, electric bikes and the cycle ergometers you might have seen in sports science labs. Monark even makes tandems, which I have hired to cycle around Ven, a nearby island (more on this island in a later blog).

img-39941
Part ofhe cycle hire shop on Ven

Personally, I don’t do much cycling. I like cycling, but I don’t like bicycles. They are just that little bit too awkward to keep maintained, and I’m a bit scared I will fall in to the gadget and fine-tuning hole that many cyclists do. So for now, I’ll stick to my running shoes, and Running around Sweden.

Leave a comment